A rich history

A recount of BPSM Architect’s rich history and the considerable input that has been made to architecture in Tasmania
(1946 – present)

In 1946, E. G. Haslock (Garf) and S. P. Bush (Pat), formed an architectural partnership known as Bush Haslock located in Hobart, Tasmania. In 1949, P.L Parkes (Lew) was also invited to join the Bush Haslock team after he had honeymooned in Tasmania with his wife and soon after relocated to the state from Sydney. The three partners then became Bush Haslock and Parkes, setting up offices in both New Town and Devonport.

Later, in 1955, K. W. Shugg (Bill) and J. S. Moon (Jim) joined to form a partnership in Hobart, which took place shortly after Jim returned from Copenhagen where he had been gaining valuable experience. In the following year, Bush Haslock and Parkes invited Shugg and Moon to form a joint venture known as Bush Haslock Parkes Shugg and Moon, now having the capacity to handle large scale projects.

Much later, in 1963 Haslock left the team to open his own practice in Melbourne. On September 29th, 1964 the partnership Bush Parkes Shugg and Moon was born. In 1968 Bush Parkes Shugg and Moon relocated from their New Town location to the Malthouse in Battery Point. The team was set to change many more times but the name would not change again. In 1970, Parkes left and in 1974 J. Wilson joined. In 1981 L. J. Morrell bought into the firm and opened an office in Launceston.

  • 1967 Empress Towers, Battery Point

    Hobart, Tasmania

    BPSM History: Empress Towers, Battery Point
  • 1978 Bowen Park Visitor Centre "The Pyramids"

    Risdon Cove, Tasmania

    BPSM History: 1978 Bowen Park
  • 1963 Hobart Savings Bank

    Bellerive, Tasmania

    BPSM History: The Hobart Savings Bank
  • Repatriation General Hospital

    Battery Point, Tasmania

    BPSM History: General Repatriation Hospital
  • Repatriation General Hospital

    Battery Point, Tasmania

    BPSM History: General Repatriation Hospital
  • 1962 Travelodge, Hobart

    Now the Fountainside Hotel

    BPSM History: Travel Lodge, Hobart
  • 1962 Travelodge, Hobart

    (Now the Fountainside Hotel) An excerpt from The Mercury newspaper.

    BPSM History: Travel Lodge, Hobart
  • Professional Chambers, 173 Macquarie St

    Hobart, Tasmania

    BPSM History: 173 Macquarie St, Hobart
  • Professional Chambers, 173 Macquarie St

    Hobart, Tasmania

    BPSM History: 173 Macquarie St, Hobart
  • Professional Chambers, 173 Macquarie St

    Hobart, Tasmania

    BPSM History: 173 Macquarie St, Hobart
  • 1959 TVT6 studios

    7HO Properties, Hobart

    BPSM History: TVT6 Station, Hobart
  • 1958 Courtyard House, Devonport

    An excellent example of late 1950’s Tasmanian Contemporary Regionalism by BPSM Architects.

    BPSM History: 1958 Courtyard House, Devonport
  • 1958 Courtyard House, Devonport

    BPSM History: 1958 Courtyard House, Devonport
  • 1958 Courtyard House, Devonport

    BPSM History: 1958 Courtyard House, Devonport

By 1984 the partners were Bush, Shugg and Moon although they chose to retain Parkes name. It was this year that the firm incorporated becoming the first firm to do so in Tasmania now known as BPSM Pty Ltd. By 1986 J. Lawrence had joined the team and Bush was ready to retire. The next year (1987) J. Skinner was made a Director along side Shugg, Moon and Lawrence.

The offices in Launceston and Devonport had been servicing the north of the state since 1950 when they were closed in the year 2000. The Hobart office remained and continued to provide exceptional architectural services to Tasmanian’s state-wide. Today, BPSM Pty Ltd is still located at Malthouse Chambers on Hampden Road, Battery Point (1968 – present).

While all of the former Directors of BPSM Pty Ltd have since retired, J. Moon and J. Skinner still visit from time to time. BPSM Pty Ltd is now in the hands of Directors D. P. Rogers (Damian) and D. R. Jones (Darren) who are responsible for writing the next chapter of BPSM’s history.

BPSM Architects’ – The Early Years

BPSM Architects' early beginnings timeline
Bill Shugg, Former BPSM Director and Architect

In 2009 BPSM farewelled one of it’s founding partners. Kenneth William (Bill) Shugg had a successful and awarded architectural career, not least of which was his appointment as the President of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects and receiver of the Australian Medal. The architectural profession owes much to Bill Shugg and he will be sorely missed, not only by his family, friends and everyone at BPSM, but the wider architectural community as a whole.

“We have to bring properly thought-out influence to bear on society. We have to earn this right by example.” – K.W. (Bill) Shugg

You can read his obituary, as composed by the President of the Tasmanian Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects, here.